tisdag 22 februari 2011

Last day

"Why do all good things come to an end?" That is the question... But, if they would never come to an end, and you had fun all the time you wouldn't appreciate it as much. I believe in balance.

It was a good day though, and I gave them my secret. I'd bought tons of tea, and a cake (that was delicious!) It was a symbolic present. If someone asks me "What did you have for lunch during these days Vicki?" I'd say "Tea".
"A'right, and for breakfast?"
"Tea."
"Dinner?"
"Tea."
So I basically went to England and drank tea, haha! Well... that's what they're known for (english people so to speak).


Anyway, I hope they were happy. They looked very happy so I'm satisfied. It was a sad moment to walk down the stairs from their office, but I've been offered to come back, and oh yes I will. In time, in time.

Not doing much at the moment. Waiting for time to pass by so I can go to bed and wake up and go to Gatwick Airport. That's it.

I have had the best 18 days of vocational training and experience in my life, and I am so grateful that I got to be here. Once again I came to the conclusion that if you want something --> Go get it! That's exactly what I did!
Just decide what you want to do and go for it. No matter what! I promise you that it will be the best thing you've ever done! Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Just follow your heart. Nobody else's.

Anyway, I am very grateful! And I'm also looking forward to upcoming events and adventures. Life has just begun

-Vicki

måndag 21 februari 2011

Countdown on a pretty lazy day

I was pretty lazy today I must admit... Didn't mean to though, but I just kept throwing gazes at the watch. Well, the reason was that I really wanted it to be 6 pm to I could do what I was I had planned to do this evening (which I can't tell you just yet).

Today I warped Jakes face, and also got "facewarped" myself. It was hilarious! There is a mask for a female and a male face that gives you the measures of a "perfect face". If you warp someones face according to that mask... it won't be a "perfect face". (Not if I'm doing it at least) It will be a "Oh God, what have I done-face". It was fun though.
More than that I didnt do much... Hm... Felt like a "bad student". But I guess it's alright to have some of those days as well :) Tomorrow is going to be fun though! Part from the fact that it's my last day.

Tomorrow I'm going to pack the rest of my stuff and go to bed early I guess... Leaving at 9 am on wednesday.
Hm... what else... guess nothing else...

See you tomorrow! Then I'll tell you all about the day :)

-Vicki

Sightseeing


My weekend was good! Really. I changed my plans from sitting around at home doing nothing to "Sunday Sightseeing". A good option if you ask me.
I started my whole trip by going to the Tower of London. Cool place, I like the old buildings of London actually. That's what's so interesting with going to London. You can really tell that it's got so much history! I like that.


Had a sandwich and watched the excited tourists running around with cameras, pointing, talking, asking, laughing. I enjoyed it. The only "less good" was the cold. My hands were freezing and my thin clothes didn't do much to keep my whole body warm either... But! It became slightly warmer as I began to walk around. Crossed the Tower Bridge and realized I had to go back since there was no sign of a subway station closeby. Didn't mind though. Watching tourists are tons of fun! Being one of them - fun too.


The next stop was at Buckingham Palace. THAT, my friends, is like going to the zoo, I tell you. The guards in front of the big building doesn't do much more than just stand there. Completely blank in the faces. Imagine tons of people (at the zoo) watching the most interesting animal who doesn't do much more than sleep. It's actually not fun, but everybody loves it. BUT! When the animal suddenly starts moving, everybody takes out their cameras and gathers so tight outside the fence just to get a picture of this sporadic action! Capture the moment! (Yes, I was one of them I admit) but it's crazy, isn't it? I bet that guard knows how the animals feel...


Anyway! It was a nice visit. I went through Green Park, watching squirrels running around, curious about the visitors in the park. In the end of the park I saw a man. He was leaning forward with some bread in his hand. A squirrell carefully moved closer to him, leaned its forepaws against the mans leg (just above his foot) and quickly grabbed the piece of bread before it hurried back to where it came from. It was just amazing to watch. I didn't get a picture of it because I was standing too far away, but close enough to see the whole event. At such moments I can't do anything but smile. Really. Because I think it is very beautiful. Human and nature together. That is something that has always fascinated me.

I had a muffin at Starbucks before I went back home. Satisfied by the day.

Today's monday, and I'm back in business! Tonight I'll... go on a mission ;) Can't tell you until tomorrow of security reasons, hehe.
So! Have a great day, 'cause I know I will!

See you!

-Vicki

lördag 19 februari 2011

Last weekend

Portobello Road

So this is my last weekend in London...
Yesterday was great! Nick was very patient with me when I stuggled with my new image, and helped me out when I needed. It ended up quite good.
Lee showed me how to retouch her boobs, and just as I sat there with a pair of boobs in my face, Nick passed me and said "What the fuck are you doing to her nipples?". I laughed! Thought it was hilarious. (Btw, I didn't do anything...)
I love the atmosphere over there, really. Fortunately I have two days left, and I will enjoy them to the fullest.

Today I went to Portobello Road and had a look around. Didn't buy anything though, but I entered a really cool store. Think it's called Saints. Google it. "Saints, Portobello Road". The windows were covered with tons of very old sewing machines, and the clothes they sold were amazing!

Saw these two musicians on Portob. R.
They were really good and people had to stop just to watch and listen to the happy songs.
Some of them sang along. It was great!


I had lunch at Pret A Manger beside Notting Hill Gate subway station and spoke to a man from Egypt. He was an ex-pilot he told me, and he'd seen so much of the world, lived in so many different countries. It was very interesting to listen to him! But since his sight was pretty bad they'd taken his "pilot licence" from him, so now he wanted to focus on art. I wish him the best of luck!

Went to Piccadilly Circus as well, where I bought more new clothes and after that I went home, extremely tired. I'm thinking about lying down for a short while.
I don't think tomorrow will be that interesting. Need to start packing since I got other plans for upcoming evenings. It's not much to do though, just... get everything together and pray that my luggage wont get too heavy.

Hm... yeah. It's been a fantastic period though. This whole trip. A real journey.
I've loved every second of it.

-Vicki

torsdag 17 februari 2011

Great birthday!

Yesterday was my birthday, and it was an amazing day, really.
What was so fun was that before I went to bed tuesday evening I said to myself "I want tomorrow to be full of surprises" and the first thing after I woke up was that the fire alarm rang! Haha! So everybody had to go outside. And when everything was done one of the staff members told us that this had to be done twice a year! God I must be lucky xD
Work was great as well. Neville decided that we should celebrate my birthday by making a "Happy Birthday playlist" on Spotify, and so we did. It was hilarious! I laughed so hard. Jake "made" me a song on happybirthday.com (I think...) and everything was just great! After work we went out to celebrate. More laughter. Oh god... I am so going to miss all of this.


When I got home one of my roommates Tina had made muffins, and on the kitchen table there was a note saying "Happy Birthday" together with four muffins. She is so sweet :)


In the evening I took the tube to Piccadilly Circus and had dinner. It was good, but I still think Amici is the best so far. Going to eat there again before I leave.
Unfortunately there's something going on with my camera so I can't upload picture at the moment... hm... I'll try later.

"Happenings" at Piccadilly Circus

I also saw this illusionist. He was cool!

Today has been good too. I finally managed to finish that image I've been doing for almost two weeks now. Retouching another one now, which I hope to finish tomorrow. There wasn't much I had to do. Wow... I've learned so much!

Okke, time to get my laundry and get some water.

Take care all!

-Vicki

tisdag 15 februari 2011

Just a normal day

Yesterday was a good day, not so much happened except for the usual. It was quite odd when Dan wasn't around though.

I'm getting close each day with my image, so soon it is very similar to what Lee's done. Hope to get it done this week, haha!

I didn't do much when I got back home. I didn't feel good either so I went to bed early. Today has been way better, and I got a recipe of Jakes "miracle medicin" for every illness which I've just tried. See if it helps. It tasted funny, so it should! Everything that tastes like shit is good for your health. Well, maybe not everything that tastes like shit xD But everything that IS GOOD FOR YOUR HEALTH usually tastes funny. That's what I meant. Please, don't eat poop now. It won't make your day any better I promise. Forget what I just said.

So, nothing else going on... Tomorrow I'll celebrate my birthday with one of my new found friends Lucy! That's going to be so much fun! I'm really looking forward to it. ^^

What is everybody else up to?

Take care!

-Vicki

måndag 14 februari 2011

Mondaaaaay!

Honestly, I don't remeber when I last felt so excited about a monday! Energy is on top and the sun is shining. Yesterday was so boring. Or should I say "not so exiciting"? I spent the whole day inside the apartment and left only to buy some food at Waitrose. I finished my report for this week though, so that's good and I don't have to think about it until next sunday again, hehe.

I need to write an essay in English C as well... But let's not think about that now!
I have an amazing day ahead of me. Not that it's Valentines Day, but that I get to be at the office.

Maybe tonights adventure will be Harrods... We'll see...

Hope you're all doing good wherever you are, and I hope you enjoy this day!

See you later

-Vicki

söndag 13 februari 2011

Long long Saturday


Yesterday was a very long day.
I started the whole adventure by trying to get to Kensington Garden. The subway line I was supposed to take was shut down because of reconstructions so I tried to figure out the smartest way to get there (by the tube). BUT, after at least two hours underground I ended up at Paddington (I think...) and decided to walk (!) to Kensington Garden from there. Yeah right... I realized it was too far and was just about to give up and go back to where I came from when I changed my mind and decided to take the bus instead. Smart-ass...
I got to Ladbroke Grove, and from there I had a nice walk to Kensington Grdn.

It was a lovely park! And the weather just made it all so much better. I had a caesar baguette in the sunshine and spoke to a very nice family. After that I had a walk in the park, saw tons of squirrels and just had a good time.

After a while I headed toward Hyde Park Corner and took the tube to Oxford Street where I got myself a new outfit. That doesn't happen very often.
Westminster was the next stop. I saw Big Ben and saw London by night from The London Eye. My evening ended at the italian restaurant Amici where I spent my first evening here. Delicious!

Today wont be that exciting. Will spend most of the time here I guess. I need to study as well... Hm...
Yeah, tomorrow's monday! Yaaaay! I've never longed for a monday as much as now. Great!
Here are some of yesterdays photos.


Lost...

On my way to Kensington Garden. Saw lots of fancy apartments.

Almost there!

Kensington Garden


Saw this cute little fella. Really charming


More from the park

And this is Hyde Park. On my way to Hyde Park Corner.

You see a lot of this stuff in the parks as well, it was cool actually.

And also horses! This photo is especially dedicated to my youngest sister.
Här får du se på hästar Fanny!


A nice restaurant. I think it was called Dell.

Here's the end of the park adventures. Next stop Oxford Street.
I didn't take any photos there though.
But I do have this:


London Eye, here we go!


London by night! It's amazing, isn't it?

fredag 11 februari 2011

Beautiful Friday

Facebook status:
"I've had one of the best weeks in my entire life, I promise, and today was just amazing as well. I really don't wanna go home"

This is true. Today was fantastic!
It was Dan's last day and we celebrated him by having lunch
together (at 3:30 pm...) It was awesome. I have never been laughing so much for so long ever.
We were joking about everything. Nick asked about the swedish "snus" (with a really funny accent xD) and after that the word "snus" appeared every now and then throughout the whole evening. Great fun!

I left my computer at the office 'cause I thought we'd be going back, but no no... So Nev was very kind to go back with me afterwards to get it, at the same t
ime he showed me around in the photostudios. They were HUGE!
They all consists of a kitchen area, a room for make-up and clothing, some computers for retouching and then, of course, the shooting area. It was so c
ool to see! Next week I'll have a closer look on that, and I really hope I'll get to do some more retouching as well, 'cause I want to learn how to set the colours and stuff before I leave, hehe.

I've learned so much so far though, and this week has been great! Being here for 18 days is a way too short period... and I'm really going to miss it all when I g
o back home.
What's fun too is that both Dan and Neville says I've developed so much this week. It makes me even more motivated to keep on doing what I'm currently doing. When I'm home I'll be reatouching as much as possible! Neville said I could send th
em my psd-files or tiff-files so they can give me feedback. Amazing! I'm so grateful for everything that's happened to me here.

And this is what I've been doing. Retouching, note-taking and tea drinking

Tomorrow is going to be a cool day. I'll be exploring London! Jake gave me a list of tons of stuff to do. I won't be able to do all of it in just one day though... But I'll definitely do lots of it. Tonight is going to be an early night. I've had my fun for today. Hehe

"Smile Dan!"

Neville, Lee and Nick

Nick, Jake and Dan

Me and Dan. He's been a great tutor to me!

Hope you're all doing great! See you soon

-Vicki

torsdag 10 februari 2011

En tour de la Big Sky Studios

It finally stopped raining so I didn't have to get soak on my way back home, thank god.

I was so wet when I got to work (let me call it work) this morning. I didn't bring an umbrella or my rainjacket... Hm... Usually Jake is at the office quite early and lets me in, but those days he's taking his bike, and today, because of the rain, he took the subway so I had to wait in the staff's room for a couple of minutes. Didn't do me any harm though.
I also saw a model today! I was just about to exit the bathroom when she entered, dressed in a long yellow dress, black hair and nice looking make-up. It was pretty cool :)

It's getting better and better each day, and Dan says I'm doing good, so I must have improved, 'cause he's the pro (together with the others as well, of course).

Tomorrow's Friday. That is actually going to be nice. I need a some days off just to clear my head - it's exploding (in a good way). I also bought a notebook today for all the messy papers I've written. Going to "clean it up" a bit and rewrite some stuff. Nicenice

Otherwise, nothing exciting really. Enjoying chocolate at the moment (Maya Gold) after a crazy cold shower. Im serious, that thing is hot for two seconds and then -WHOOSH- it's like showering in ice. Maybe it's one of NWA's ideas just so we won't be standing under nice, hot, relaxing water for hours... Too bad...

Speaking of nothing, I took some photos inside Big Sky, or.... I took photos of the bathroom xD I found it rather interesting, haha! The Big Sky-building is like a maze of corridors and black doors. If it wasn't for the kind man I met my first day I would never have found the Morph Retouch-office.
Ladies room (I won't upload the image I took of the toilets, that's just... weird, really, hehe)

And this is Dan (left) and Neville (right) workingworkingworking, retouchingretouchingretouching
I really fancy their office. Next to Neville in the middle is Nick's place, and next to Nick we have Lee. I'm currently using Jake's Mac, while Jake's using my old PC watching clips on the Internet in one of the armchairs behind the wall. Busy men!


Alright! This is almost one week's job. It's written on both sides, and I still have one more day to go.
I'm learning a lot!


Yeah, that's all for now. I'm getting sleepy.
Good night!

-Vicki

Ooh rainy day

I didn't post anything yesterday. It was a great day though. I worked together with Dan all day, learning how to use masks and different techniques for retouching clothes and stuff. Great fun! I'm still taking notes, hehe.

When I got home I didn't do much. Had dinner together with the two girls in my flat. There I learned something about "the four P's". It's a marketing thing and stands for Place, Product, Price, Promotion, or something like that. Cool, cool.

I also did some washing. At the laundry I met another girl. We started talking and she invited me to her room for a cup of tea. It was fun to meet her, and we got along very well. Decided we should do something on my birthday and go visit Portobello Road next Saturday. Awesome! Haha

Hm... what else? There really isn't that much. It's raining today, and I had a hard time going to sleep last night so I'm very tired at the moment. Hope it will disappear if I get some fresh air.

Alright! Time to go to work!

See you

-Vicki

tisdag 8 februari 2011

Location: Heaven

When I woke up this morning there was sunshine! (and droplets of water on my window...)

And this is my fancy, big, clean, beloved room! >
And this is where I put on makeup and brush my teeth :D

Today has been a fantastic day! I learn so much at Morph, and the guys are to nice and helpful. I got to meet my contact person as well. He's awesome!
Feel's like we're "breaking the ice" more and more, which is great. Well, I shouldn't complain about yesterday since it was the first day. New faces, new personlities to get familiar with. I love it here though.

When I got out I went home to "get rid" of my computer, and after that I went to Leicester Square, had dinner at an indian restaurant where I got to pieces of chocolate as a "thank you for eating here". I headed off to Trafalgar Square and ate them while enjoying the view. I took some photos, but I'll upload them tomorrow since it's getting pretty late, and I decided to have a "study day" tomorrow. I need to do some school stuff, wash some clothes and do some shopping.

Outside Leicester Square Subway Station

Btw, I've heard a great song on the radio. It's called 'Blind Faith' by Chase & Status. It will from now on make me remember this time here. I'll share it with you.

måndag 7 februari 2011

Morph Retouch, Big Sky Studios

Holloway Road

Back on track!
First day of my vocational training period. It's been a real challenge, I tell you! The people are great though. I've been slightly nervous so I didn't actually say much, but I guess it will get better as the days go by.
I've been retouching a photo of an athletic woman, and Jesus what time it takes. Today I managed to do her hands (!). But we should also keep in mind that I had to redo the two first tries. But it was fun! I wil learn a whole lot during this period.

Big Sky Studios

After all of that I got home and decided I needed to see something else than my apartment and Holloway Road. So one of my newfound friends and I took the tube to Piccadilly Circus. I needed a towel. (And I got one, two even - FINALLY!)
On Piccadilly Circus we saw a man (I think he was jamaican... well, doesn't matter) doing limbo, and I think he managed to pass 30 centimeters. It was incredible.

Alright!
Some answers to comment questions:
  • The food at the restaurant was delicious! (The name of it was Amici btw)
  • Weather is good too, a bit cloudy but today I actually saw the sun AND the moon.
  • Plugs are different here compared to Sweden, yes ^^
  • And I didn't bring a towel 'cause I got an e-mail saying I only needed to bring my credit card and my ID, so... xD Luckily I got two now ^^
I'm looking forward to the rest of this week :)

-Vicki

söndag 6 februari 2011

LONDON 1st day

I managed to get to London all by myself! Hihihihihi
It was a very pleasant trip though, at least when I didn't have to carry around my luggage. Fortunately, English people are very kind and helpful. Three times people helped me with my stuff.

God, I felt incredibly dirty when I finally reached my apartment on Holloway Road. I had no time to shower since I needed to do some shopping. Breakfast and necessary stuff that is. I ended up having dinner at an Italian restaurant nearby. I don't remember the name of it, but I'll write it down when I see it tomorrow.

I've been exploring the area a little bit as well. Went to Big Sky Studios just to see where I'm going tomorrow and also to find out how far away it is from where I'm staying. It's a pretty long walk, but not too bad. Will be great with some fresh air in the morning.

Oh, btw, there's a Swedish girl living here too. (No, not me, someone else)
That's interesting. And I've met so many kind people already.

Today's challenges have been to:
1: Trying to fix the adapter I got from grandma and grandpa so I could charge my laptop. (I got one from one of the staff instead)
2: Shower without a towel in ice cold water!

I think that's all.

Yeah, I'll be updating more. Time to get some sleep, I'm exhausted!

(No fancy images...)
At the airport (up) View from my window (down)


-Vicki